Overwatch’s Competitive Play Season 2 Now Live

Season 2 of Overwatch’s Competitive Play has begun, and with it comes a handful of changes. There’s so much to cover, so let’s jump right into it. First, the...

Season 2 of Overwatch’s Competitive Play has begun, and with it comes a handful of changes. There’s so much to cover, so let’s jump right into it.

First, the ranking system has been changed from a 100-point scale to a 5,000-point scale. The new ranking system should serve as a more accurate representation of a player’s skill level.

Skill ratings are divided into seven skill tiers: Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Master, and Grandmaster. The ranges for each tier along with its respective emblem is pictured below:

Overwatch - Skill Tiers

Once a player reaches a certain skill tier, they are unable to drop to a lower tier. The exceptions to this new immunity rule are Master and Grandmaster players.

Second, players with skill ratings of 3,000 and above will be penalized for inactivity. If a player fails to participate in at least one competitive match for seven days, then they will be labeled as inactive. 50 skill rating will be removed every 24 hours of inactivity; however, players won’t decay below 3,000 skill rating. Playing a single competitive game will return a player to an active standing.

Overwatch - Top 500

Remaining active is a requirement to be eligible for the Top 500 leaderboards. Players seeking to earn a spot on the leaderboards must also play a minimum of 50 competitive games.

Third, grouping restrictions have been implemented in Competitive Play. Players with a skill rating difference greater than 1,000 won’t be able to form a group together. This restriction is set to a 500 skill rating difference for players in the Master and Grandmaster skill tiers. Additionally, Diamond, Master, and Grandmaster players can’t group with someone in their placement matches.

Overwatch - Grouping Restrictions

Fourth, Sudden Death has been replaced by an improved version of the time bank system. If the match is tied after both teams have played on offense and defense, then tie breaker rounds are played. The amount of time available to each team during these tiebreaker rounds is however much time they had left after the initial rounds.

Overwatch - Tie Breaker Time Remaining

Teams are guaranteed to have at least 60 seconds for the tiebreaker rounds. Any team with less than 60 seconds remaining after the initial rounds will be increased to the 60 seconds minimum. An identical amount of time will be added to the other team’s clock. Overall, the length of competitive matches will be reduced by 60 seconds to accommodate this new system.

Fifth, players will now receive 10 Competitive Points for winning a match. Golden Weapons will have their costs multiplied by 10 to reflect this change.

Overwatch - Golden Weapons

This new Competitive Points system allows Blizzard to reward players for draws. A maximum of 6,000 points can be accumulated at once. Any excess points above the cap will be lost forever.

Lastly, players will face harsher punishments for leaving an in-progress match. More matches must be played without leaving before a player can return to good standing.

Overwatch - Leaver Penalties

That about sums up the changes for Competitive Play Season 2. Now that you understand how everything works, get your game on because there’s skill rating to earn and skill tiers to reach. I’ll see you on the battlefield, lads!


Henry is a hardcore gamer who loves to talk about all things gaming-related. Ever since his initiation into the gaming world at the young age of 2, he has been obsessed with video games. His love for video games is what led him to become a gaming journalist. His favorite games are those that challenge his skills and are graphically astounding, such as the Dark Souls series. He aspires to make his own video games one day that many gamers can enjoy.
No Comment

Leave a Reply